Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine

Downers Grove, IL Campus

Clinical Rotations

Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine

Core clinical rotations are required and include assessment by both preceptor evaluations and post-rotation exams. Core rotations include: family medicine, internal medicine, surgery, pediatrics, psychiatry, osteopathic manipulative medicine, obstetrics/gynecology and emergency medicine. These rotations may not be done at out-of-system sites.

Students must also complete elective rotations in recognized fields of medicine. Examples of rotations include: anesthesiology, cardiology, cardiovascular/thoracic surgery, dermatology, endocrinology/metabolism, family medicine, gastroenterology, hematology/oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, neurosurgery, nuclear medicine, obstetrics/gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedic surgery, otorhinolaryngology, pathology, radiology, rheumatology/immunology, urology and/or research.

Students may pursue elective clinical rotations at preapproved institutions where an additional agreement to send CCOM students has been established. Elective rotations may also be taken in any of the required core rotation disciplines. Other elective choices are subject to review and approval by the Associate Dean of Clinical Education. Elective options are also subject to the limitations as noted in the clinical clerkship policies. Some elective rotations in the same specialty categories may be limited to 16 weeks.


Depending on how the dates fall in the specific calendar year, third and fourth year students have a one- to two-week holiday break at the end of each calendar year. In addition, again based on how the dates fall in the specific calendar year, students have a one-to two-week break at the end of third year prior to beginning fourth year rotations. Fourth year students have a one-week break for senior week/graduation preparation culminating in graduation. Students are allowed two vacation months total (one in the third year and one in the fourth year, or two in the fourth year). Students may not take more than one vacation month per quarter without permission from the Dean.