Find News and Events


IL: CCOM Dean Announced President-Elect of AOA

July 22, 2009

by Jill Blair-Smith

Midwestern University is proud to announce that Karen J. Nichols, D.O., F.A.C.O.I., M.A., Dean of the Chicago College of Medicine (CCOM) and Professor of Internal Medicine, has been elected President-Elect of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) during their annual business meeting in July. Dr. Nichols, Dean of CCOM since 2002, will begin serving as President-Elect this year and is on track to become the first female president of the association, which represents the nation's more than 67,000 osteopathic physicians (D.O.s), in 2010.

Dr. Nichols, a board-certified internist of Oak Brook, Ill., has been a member of the AOA since 1981 and a member of the Board of Trustees since 1999. As one of only eight females in her graduating medical school class, Dr. Nichols takes pride in seeing the role of women in medicine grow.

"I have always been honored to be involved in the osteopathic medical profession and I hope to inspire future generations of female D.O.s to aspire to leadership positions. I always tell my female and male students that this is a growing profession and you can make an impact if you get involved," said Dr. Nichols.

Dr. Nichols has been a part of the osteopathic profession since her graduation from the Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences and her residency at Oklahoma Osteopathic Hospital where she served as the Chief Resident. Dr. Nichols began with Midwestern University as the Internal Medicine Director for the Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1997, and since that time, she has dedicated herself to the students of Midwestern University.

"The nomination of Dr. Nichols is very significant. She has always been a true osteopathic leader and I am so very pleased that her talent and ability is recognized and embraced by the entire profession," said Kathleen Goeppinger, Ph.D., President and CEO of Midwestern University. "We are honored to have Dr. Nichols selected for this important national role."

Aside from her AOA responsibilities, Dr. Nichols has served as a member of the Board of Trustees for the Institute for National Health Policy Review; as president of the American College of Osteopathic Internists (ACOI); president of the Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association (AOMA); and as a member of the Illinois Osteopathic Medical Society (IOMS).

Dr. Nichols has received many honors and awards including the first AOMA Physician of the Year; AOA Mentor Hall of Fame Inductee; the Outstanding Achievement Award from the MWU/CCOM Alumni Association Board of Governors; Fellow of the Institute of Medicine-Chicago chapter; recipient of the IOMS Distinguished Service Award; Clinician of the Year from Mesa General Hospital; and the Horizon Award from the American Osteopathic Foundation.


More Information

For more information, please contact:
Jill Blair-Smith