Find News and Events


AZ: Midwestern University Announces 2011 Littlejohn Award Winners

December 01, 2011

by Office of Communications

MWU Glendale Littlejohn Award winners from 2011

2011 Littlejohn Award winners (from left to right): Krista Ross, Karen Mattox, and Dr. Gloria Yueh

Winners of Midwestern University's Littlejohn Awards were recognized by Midwestern University President and CEO Kathleen H. Goeppinger, Ph.D., at the University's annual recognition dinner held this fall at the Renaissance Hotel in Glendale, Arizona.

This year's winners are Midwestern University alumnus Krista R. Ross, M.A., MIS/M, Senior Admissions Counselor; faculty member Y. Gloria Yueh, Ph.D., Chair, Biochemistry; and staff member Karen Mattox, Assistant Director of Communications.

Ms. Ross is a 2001 graduate from Midwestern University's Master of Arts in Biomedical Ethics program. She has also worked in Midwestern's Glendale Campus Admissions Office since 1998. Ms. Ross is a Captain in the United States Army Reserves and has served her country with distinction in campaigns in Afghanistan and Iraq. A devoted advocate for continuing education, Ms. Ross received bachelor's degrees in History and Information Technology and an additional master's degree in Information Systems Management, and she is currently pursuing a doctorate degree in Organizational Leadership.

Dr. Yueh was recognized by Dr. Goeppinger as an enthusiastic volunteer, a campus leader, and a compassionate faculty member. She received a chemical engineering degree from National Taiwan University and her Ph.D. in biochemistry in 1994 from the University of Connecticut, and she served post-doctoral fellowships at UConn and the Mayo Clinic. A member of the Midwestern University family since 1997, Dr. Yueh was promoted to full Professor and became Chair of Biochemistry in 2008.

Another of Midwestern University's long-time Glendale Campus employees, Ms. Mattox has been an instrumental part of the University's growth in the Valley of the Sun through her contributions to the University's media and community outreach. Ms. Mattox was recognized by Dr. Goeppinger for her dedication to informing young people about future careers in healthcare, including her efforts with the annual summer Health Careers Institute, a week-long program designed for high school students to participate in hands-on labs, explore health career options, and receive personal mentoring from Midwestern faculty, staff, and students.

The Littlejohn Awards take their name from the Littlejohn brothers, physicians who in 1900 founded the American College of Osteopathic Medicine & Surgery, the precursor to the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine which formed Midwestern University's foundation. The awards, which have been presented annually since 2000 by Dr. Goeppinger, are Midwestern University's highest honor. Littlejohn Award winners are selected from Midwestern faculty, staff, and alumni for their outstanding service to the community, the health professions, and the University.

Midwestern University extends the warmest congratulations to these outstanding representatives of the University and the healthcare community.

More Information

For more information, please contact:
Office of Communications
630.515.7333 (IL) or 623.572.3353 (AZ)