Find News and Events


IL: Midwestern University Presents Littlejohn Awards

June 17, 2011

by Office of Communications

The Midwestern University Littlejohn Award winners for 2011 are (from left) Nicholas G. Parise, D.O., Alejandro M. S. Mayer, Ph.D., and Jim Ciway.

Midwestern University (MWU) recently presented its highest honor - the Littlejohn Award - to one faculty member, one staff member, and one alumnus who best embody the qualities of service and commitment to the University.

Alejandro M. S. Mayer, Ph.D., M.S.Ed., Professor of Pharmacology, received the faculty Littlejohn Award. Dr. Mayer's research areas include marine antineuroinflammatory pharmacology and marine toxicology which explores the pharmaceutical potential of the enormous biodiversity of organisms present in the world's oceans. He also received the first two patents awarded to Midwestern University for his discovery of the marine anti-inflammatory Manzamines, compounds found in a marine sponge.

The alumni award was presented to Dr. Parise who received his doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from Midwestern University's Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1983. Currently, Dr. Parise is the Course Director for Family Medicine at Midwestern University.

Jim Ciway, an Electrician in the Campus Facilities Department, received the staff Littlejohn Award. Mr. Ciway is responsible for electrical installation and maintenance, campus telecommunications installation and maintenance, installation and operation of the campus access control system and the campus emergency alert system.

The Littlejohn Awards, established in 2000, are named after the three brothers - John Martin, James Buchanan, and David - who, in 1900, established the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine, MWU's founding college.

More Information

For more information, please contact:
Office of Communications
630/515-7333 (IL) or 623/572-3353 (AZ)