Find News and Events


IL: Midwestern University Presents Littlejohn Awards

July 13, 2012

by Office of Communications

The Midwestern University Littlejohn Award recipients for 2012 are (from left) Richard Ney, Ph.D., Marian O’Brien, M.S., and David Kuo, D.O., FACO.

Midwestern University recently inducted three new members into the Littlejohn Society. The Littlejohn Award is the highest honor bestowed by the University and is presented each year to one faculty member, one staff member, and one alumnus who best embody the qualities of service and commitment to the University.

Richard Ney, Ph.D., received the faculty Littlejohn Award for his excellence in the classroom, his ongoing mentorship of Midwestern students, and his commitment to community service including organizing a student-led Improv Night that benefits numerous local and national charities. Dr. Ney, a Professor and the Interim Associate Program Director for Clinical Psychology, is a licensed clinical psychologist whose areas of expertise include the clinical uses of structured improvisational exercises, autism spectrum disorders, and psychohistory.

Marian O'Brien, M.S., a member of the University staff since 1991, received the staff Littlejohn Award. In her role as Director of Accreditation and Support Services, Ms. O'Brien is responsible for the coordination, facilitation, and management of accreditation adherence and compliance for all the academic programs offered by Midwestern University. In addition, she provides leadership in the preparation of accreditation documents and prepares for various site-team visits throughout the year.  Ms. O'Brien received the Littlejohn Award for her leadership and her unwavering willingness to assist the various colleges at the University.

The alumni Littlejohn award was presented to David Kuo, D.O., FACP for his many contributions to osteopathic medicine and his commitment to the University. Dr. Kuo graduated from Midwestern University's Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine (CCOM) in 1980 and specializes in internal medicine and geriatric medicine. Currently, Dr. Kuo is a senior attending physician at NorthShore University HealthSystem and is the medical director at the McGaw Healthcare Center, an affiliate of the Presbyterian Homes in Evanston, IL. Dr. Kuo is a lifetime member of the CCOM alumni association, donates his time to interview prospective CCOM students, and has established a scholarship to help students pay for their medical education.

The Littlejohn Awards, established in 2000, are named after the three brothers - John Martin, James Buchanan, and David - who, in 1900, established the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine, Midwestern's founding college.

More Information

For more information, please contact:
Office of Communications
630/515-7333 (IL) or 623/572-3353 (AZ)