Find News and Events


IL: MWU Pharmacy Students Receive National Community Service Award

December 08, 2009

by Jill Blair-Smith

Midwestern University's Chicago College of Pharmacy will receive the 2009-10 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Student Community Engaged Service Award for developing an outstanding diabetes education program. They join only three other colleges around the country to receive this distinguished honor. In addition to receiving a commemorative prize, Midwestern University's Chicago College of Pharmacy will also be given up to $15,000 to support this or other service projects, and to support student travel to present the project at national meetings.

Midwestern University pharmacy students and their faculty mentor developed the CHAT (Collaborative Health Advocate Team) program to provide diabetes education and self-management training to people with diabetes in underserved communities. The student project coordinators recruit and train students from pharmacy, medicine, physician assistant studies, and other health science related programs on campus to promote collaborative health care practice. This team works in community clinics and offers free diabetes prevention and self-management education classes in small group settings with the goal of promoting healthy lifestyles, medication adherence, and optimal quality of life.

Currently, CHAT members present four interactive educational sessions at four community clinics throughout the calendar year. In addition, students also offer medication therapy management, self-monitor blood glucose meter training, and personal goal-setting services to patients.

This national award will be presented to members of the Midwestern University's Chicago College of Pharmacy CHAT team along with their faculty mentor at the AACP Interim Meeting Student Community Engaged Service Awards Luncheon on Monday, February 8 in Arlington, VA.

CHAT Team Members:
Team Leaders: Grazina Janeliauskaite, Charul Doshi and Chunkit So
Team Members: Magdalena Gandera, Alison Wille, Dina Nakhleh, Anna Kabakov, Lydia Lee, Milagros Calizo, Daniel Glapa, Nancy Nguyen, and Vincent Dorsey
Faculty Advisor: Susan Cornell, Pharm.D., C.D.E., FAPhA, FAADE, Assistant Director of Experiential Education

More Information

For more information, please contact:
Jill Blair-Smith